The Giller Prizes were announced and Linden MacIntyre won for the novel The Bishop’s Man. The upscale event was held at The Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto and there were 500 plus people in attendance. Other nominees included Kim Echlin (author of The Disappeared), Annabel Lyon (author of The Golden Mean), Colin McAdam (author of Fall), and  Anne Michaels (author of The Winter Vault).